Support our mission to honor the dead – serve the living

About The War Memorial

The War Memorial Center is Wisconsin’s most visible memorial to all those who have served in the U.S. Armed Services, and is committed to furthering a single, solemn mission:

“Honor the Dead. Serve the Living.”

Honoring The Fallen

Dedicated on Veterans Day 1957 and designated a Milwaukee Landmark in 1974, The War Memorial Center is the stunning architectural achievement of renowned Finnish-American architect Eero Saarinen, whose work also included the St. Louis Gateway Arch, New York’s John F. Kennedy Airport and Dulles International Airport in Washington, D.C. Most importantly, Saarinen’s design and the memorials throughout the facility stand as a lasting testament to those who lost their lives defending the freedoms that we all cherish.

Serving the Living

In addition to standing as a testament to those whose made the ultimate sacrifice for our country, the War Memorial Center is a hub for veteran activities. We work to ensure each veteran knows their service is appreciated as we inspire patriotism in our youth and honor the 3,481 men and women from Milwaukee County who paid the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom. We provide over $120,000 in services each year to veterans and veteran service organizations.

Get Social With Us

You can also connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and Flickr. We also encourage you to sign-up for our monthly e-mail newsletter!

Annual Reports

2019 Annual Report

2018 Annual Report


2017 Annual Report


2016 Annual Report


2015 Annual Report


2014 Annual Report



The War Memorial Center was born out of the collective vision of the Zonta, Altrusa, Business and Professional Women’s Club and the Milwaukee Civic Alliance to create a fitting memorial to honor the War Dead of WWII. Our mission remains, “To Honor the Dead by Serving the Living.”

Inspired by their vision, fundraising began and the community pooled its resources. The building was dedicated on Veterans Day 1957 as a testament to the men and women who served our nation when called.

Board of Trustees

Board Officers

Peter P. Pochowski
COL, USA, Retired

Michael W. Grebe
Lynde & Harry Bradley
Foundation, Retired

Charles A. Gordon
Godfrey & Kahn, S.C.

Michael C. Gibson
J H Findorff & Son

Board Directors

George Banda

Joe Dean

Dean Family Charitable Fund

Bert Garvin
WEC Energy Group

George J. Gaspar

Michael Koszuta
Command Sgt. Major (Ret.)
US Army

Jeffrey L. Marks
Johnson Controls, Inc.

Cream Pepito
Northwestern Mutual

Mary B. Read
Clement Finance & Leasing

John Weishan, Jr.
Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors

Christine Westrich
Milwaukee County Office of Emergency Management (OEM)

Past Board Chairmen

Will Ross

Philip K. Robinson

Richard J. White, Jr.

Joseph A. Greco

Charles C. Mulcahy

Thomas S. O’Byrne

Lester J. Dencker

Marshall R. Berkoff

Thomas A. Bailey

George J. Gaspar

Michael M. Berzowski

War Memorial Center Staff

Dan Buttery
President and CEO

Laurie Kildegaard
Vice President of Finance and Administration

Vicki Chappell
Vice President of Philanthropy

Jennifer Wallner
Events Manager

Mark Waldoch

Jenna Johnson
Administrative Asst.

Alex Drent

Randy Hahn

Milwaukee County War Memorial Center
750 N. Lincoln Memorial Drive
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202
(414) 273-5533